What Worked – and What Didn’t. The Wireless State of the Nation.

Prostate Cancer Pony Express – September, 2011

For the many of you still following this blog, one quick note:  slip on over to Blacktireaffairs.wordpress.com and pick up the thread for the Prostate Cancer Pony Express.

The second week of September 2011 will begin our annual ride to our nation’s capitol to support the efforts of the various prostate cancer advocacy organizations.  September is national prostate cancer awareness month, and we are developing an annual event to bring motorcyclists to Washington, DC to highlight the critical importance of early detection.

The One Device I Wish I Had Had With Me On The 2010 Tour de USA

Keeping my blog and Facebook page posted during last summer’s ride across the US and back was a constant challenge.  The US is getting better at wireless access, but it’s still pretty spotty in many locations.

McDonald’s now has free wi-fi and it was pretty consistent during the trip.  I also found some Subway stores with free wi-fi, although not too many.  Almost all of the Motel 6 units I stopped at had wi-fi, but they wanted an extra fee and, since this was a fundraising ride I tried to make do with my Verizon data card.

The data card worked very well.  In fact, my Verizon data card and phone worked nearly 100% of the time, whereas my iPhone gave me about 40% coverage outside of the major urban areas.

Verizon MiFi Card

I recently replaced my USB data card with a Verizon MiFi device and it is, uh, fabulous!!  I simply turn it on and it creates a small wi-fi network that allows me to connect my laptop, iPhone, and iPad simultaneous, and it’s secure.

This is a great little device for anyone that travels.  It will allow you to have Internet connection for your iPad without purchasing an AT&T 3G service plan – plus, it’s more reliable.

Next time, my helmet review.

Car Donation to the Prostate Cancer Awareness Project

Remember that we can now accept vehicle donations in California.  For details, just pop over to http://cardonationtopcap.org/about-us for details.

Warm regards, Robert

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in adventure motorcycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

