The Official 2010 Prostate Cancer Tour de USA Helmet

My HJC IS-33

I did the ride with a white HJC IS-33 open face helmet.  I choose this helmet because of comments on some of the LinkedIn groups about full face helmets fogging in the rain.  And, this 48 days of riding in the plan, I was pretty certain I would have lots of rain.

What I Like About the IS-33

I really liked the flip-up face shield and the internal pull dow and pop up sun visor.  I rode in full sun for almost the entire first month.  I rode with my prescription aviator sun glasses, mostly with the internal sun visor down also.

This combination was particularly useful when the sun was low on the horizon and when riding on light concrete roads, which tended to produce a lot of glare.

Performance in the Rain

The helmet was good in the rain.  When it really poured, though – I did 97 miles in Hermine (but who’s counting) – I needed to flip the face shield because I could not see through the rain drops on the windshield, the face shield and my glasses.

The open face model meant that I never suffered from fogging, even when the rain came in hot, humid South Carolina and Arkansas.

What I Did Not Like

When riding into the wind at 70 mph or above, the face shield had a tendency to lift partially up.  I found this a bit annoying, but I probably could solve it simply by replacing the worn face shield.

My Rating

5 stars.  I love this helmet, even though it looks a bit too European and is decidedly un-Harley.

Headed for Raleigh, NC

Why White?

I’ve been asked this question a number of times.  The answer is simply, safety.  I wanted to be as visible as possible and have drivers reflexively think of white police motorcycle helmets.

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Official 2010 Prostate Cancer Tour de USA Helmet

  1. Michael B Allmon says:

    where on earth did you find that ?

Leave a Reply

