Minnesota Fats Lives in Phoenix!

One Pocket and Nine Ball

I’m here in Phoenix for two days with family friends, and John has a wonderful pool table in the family room.  We’ve played a few games this evening and I’m sad to report that my sense of angles has improved not one jot!

Two Days and 448 Miles Remaining

This wonderful trip is just about over.  I head over to the Arizona state capitol Monday morning and then on into Indian Wells and back to Manhattan Beach Tuesday afternoon.

September 14 – Indian Wells to Manhattan Beach

My final day should be a really fun ride on Highway 74 from Indian Wells to San Juan Capistrano (route) and then on to Beach Business Bank via PCH.

If you have some free time on Tuesday, meet me for the ride or connect with me along PCH for the final segment, ending at Beach Business Bank in Manhattan Beach.

You can follow my progress on the Internet at http://bit.ly/tourdeusa2010.  If want to connect, call me at 310.947,1910.  Better yet, send me a text message with a location along the route to meet.

Las Cruces, NM to Phoenix, AZ – September 10th

This was a fun ride.  I did the first segment on the I-10.  At Lordsburg, I picked up the 70 and headed toward the Tonto National Forest.

It was a lot of nothing until I started climbing the hills near Duncan, Arizona, which were green from the recent rains and reminded me a bit of an Alpine setting, but without the trees.

After the hills, I dropped into the Gila Valley and discovered lots of cotton fields.  Imagine!  I’ve since been told about Arizona’s 5 C’s: copper, climate, citrus, cotton, and cattle.  Now you know!

Border Patrol seems really serious here.  Everyone was stopped and lots of dogs sniffing around.

Border Patrol Checkpoint West of Las Cruces on the I-10.

Lot’s of Empty. Not much for 80 miles or so going north from Lordsburg.  These sentinel cactus plants were everywhere.  The desert has its own very stark charm and beauty.

Highway 70. Headed for Duncan, AZ.

No Permits Required. I’m told that no gun permits are required in Arizona, even for a concealed handgun.

Historical marker in the Gila Valley between Duncan and Globe. Notice the recent bullet holes.

Beautiful Scenery Just West of Globe, AZ on Highway 60.

Old crop duster in Gila Valley. I believe this is a Raven. I did initial instrument training on one of these.

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in adventure motorcycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

