Chicken Livers and Spot l’s Demise

Lunch at Lake City, Arkansas was the Culprit

For the many of you that are following me on the Internet, you noticed that Spot stopped transmitting just north of Lake City, Arkansas at 2:18 pm last Sunday as I travelled from Jackson, MS to Little Rock, AK.

Why are Chicken Livers to Blame?

The rain caught up with me around Vicksburg and on went the rain gear.  It let up at Lake City where I stopped for fuel in Rick’s Express, a little gas station that was not listed on my GPS device (but which was really timely).

I walked in to find two of my favorite foods from my youth – southern fried chicken and chicken livers.  Oh, they are so unhealthy, but. . . ., nostalgia won out.

Not very healthy, but oh, so good. . .

After lunch at Rick’s, there was no rain so I tucked my rain jacket (with Spot in the pocket) on the back of the bike under the bungee cord securing the luggage rain cover and headed north.

Rick's Express - Lake City

At the next fuel stop I realized that the bungee cord had slid upwards over the slick rain cover and popped loose, allowing the wind to catch the rain jacket.  Spot has not pinged since, so my assumption is that he was run over by a following vehicle.

Best Buy and Spot to the Rescue

I called the local Best Buy in Little Rock and purchased the last device they had in stock which, of course, has been christened Spot II.  It’s Spot II that you have been following.

Spot II - Don't Leave Home Without One

The team at Spot transferred the account to Spot II over the phone.  For a long trip, I consider this a “must have device,” and it would be a great thing for our kids to carry as they begin to take long trips.  Not exactly an OnStar, but they can carry it in their pockets when they go walking.

The real culprit, of course, is that pesky nylon luggage rain cover and not the chicken livers.  But the livers make a much better story.

I’ll be here in Austin for the next several days catching up and getting set for the final push back to Los Angeles.

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

