“Dave” Does the Dirt

What Was I Doing in the Chattahooche National Forest?

I received more that one email about my detour into the Chattahooche National Forest, so here’s the tale.

I was commissioned in the Army in June 1968. Those were the Vietnam days and my first training courses were Airborne and Ranger School.

The mountain phase of Ranger training is conducted at Camp Merril near Dahlonega, Georgia, which is in Chattahooche National Forest. So my little sojurn was to visit the camp 42 years later.

Jan 1968 - August 2010

I showed the gate guard my retired ID card and he gave me the run of the post.  It seems as though they receive a visitor every three or four days.  As is turns out, Jim and I had served with the 173 Airborne Brigade in the Vietnam at the same time.  It is indeed a small world.

OK, Ranger, start climbing. I'll tell you when to stop!

Mystery solved!

Be sure to be checking your PSA. Get your free PSA Tracker at 29000men.org

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

