Rain, Rain – Come Again Another Day. Doesn’t Work

The Shenandoah Valley Receives a Present

After 7 weeks with virtually no rain, I awoke yesterday morning to a torrential downpour.  The 40% chance of isolated thunderstorms had transformed into a 100% chance of rain with possibilities of isolated flash flooding.  Bad for me, but good for agriculture.

Dave and I Get our Rain and Fog Checkride

Thanks to Jim Schnitzhofer, Dave spent the night in the garage, which allowed me to avoid loading the gear in a driving rain.  Always a good thing.

After delaying for an hour hoping for a break, I finally donned my bright orange rainsuit and my water proof gloves and launched.

With the windshield on and my helmet visor down, I could manage 50 mph and still see fairly well.  Crossing the Blueridge Mountains at Waynesboro in rainy weather often is accompanied by fog, and yesterday was no exception.

The semi-trailer traffic moves fast in all types of weather, including fog, so I set my turn signals to emergency flash and rode the 70 miles from Mt. Sidney to Charlottesville at 50 mph.  The only real challenge was the mist thrown up by passing trucks.  I finally just lifted my helmet visor and squinted, which work well.

Great Reception at the Virginia Governor’s Office

I linked up with two riders at the Governor’s office, Dick Peterson and his colleague, Jeff.

Dinner Time

We had a great meeting with Ms. Kimberly Steinhoff, Special Assistant to the governor’s chief of staff.  Kim’s father is a prostate cancer survivor so she had a thorough understanding of the disease.

At the Governor's office; Robert, Kim, Jeff, and Dick

She was intrigued by the possibility of putting the PCAP’s PSA Tracker on the website for download during the month of September – national prostate cancer awareness month.

I firmly believe that having our PSA Tracker on the refrigerator door and tracking that pesky annual PSA test value would result in a major jump in early prostate cancer detection rates.  I need you gals that are reading these posts to visit the 29000men.org website and download and print the Tracker.

Another Virginia Military Institute Alumnus in the Making

I happened to mention that I am a VMI alumnus, and it turns out that Kim’s son, Philip, is a First Classman (senior) and will graduate next June with a degree in civil engineering.  Go Philip! Go Keydets!

5,000 Miles and Counting

I’m now on the 27th day of the trip, having covered just over 5,000 of the originally planned 8,062 miles.

I’ve met wonderful people, carried the prostate cancer awareness message to hundreds of thousands of people, and gotten some great ideas.

If you happen to have thoughts you want to share, simply post them to the blog or send them directly to me a robert (dot) hess (at) 29000men.org.

Just North of Raleigh, NC

Dave’s due for an oil change and a new pair of shoes before August is over!

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

