St. Peter was Fine, but No Love from St. Paul

Except from the Governor’s Office, That Is

St. Peter, MN

Capitol Building, St. Paul, MN

Yesterday was another beautiful day on Dave.  My only regret with my schedule is that it forces me to stay mostly on the interstate motorways, preventing me from experiencing the locales I’m riding past.

I used a McOffice in St. Peter, Minnesota to clear email and have lunch – the side salads are pretty good, and an elderly grandmother attendant came over with a handful of McDonald’s mints for me.  Really sweet.

Riding through South Dakota, Minnesota, and Wisconsin really bring home the scope of US agriculture.

St. Paul, MN

I did have a good experience at the Minnesota state capitol, though.  While Governor Pawlenty was in Iowa, I had a great conversation with his assistant about the importance of prostate cancer testing.

After that meeting, she suggested I touch base with the press pool in the basement.  And did, and it reminded my of my time in Army intelligence.

I hit the offices at about 4 pm and gave everyone my 1 minute pitch and my “hooks.”  I got lots of interest in the topic, but every one was “heads down” writing on deadlines for the evening news deadlines to I had no takers.

My New Plan

Having broken the code on timing for interacting with journalists. I decided to push on toward Madison, WI, and position myself for arriving mid-morning on Friday.  I got as far as Warrens, WI – about 415 miles total on the day, which was my limit.  But, only 111 miles in Madison; a piece of cake for Friday.

Ah, the Best Laid Plans. . . .

I awakened this morning at 5:15 to the sound of thunder and the flash of lightening.  It was beautiful yesterday afternoon, but a thunderstorm system caught up with me over night.

I’m writing this at 7 am, waiting for the system to pass.  The forecast for the Warren / Madison area for the next four hours is severe thunderstorms, hail, and flash flooding. I’m having another cup of joe and delaying takeoff:-)

Are You Tracking Your PSA?

If you haven’t already, download a PSA Tracker from 29000men.org

They're In Here

Governor Pawlenty's Office

, and enter your most recent three PSA test results.

Warm regards,  Robert

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

