Divide and Conquer

Lisa Receives her Tour de USA 2010 Patch

August 5, Salt Lake City to Rawlins, WY

I’m not even in Montana and I now thoroughly understand the concept of BIG SKY.  I crested a hill on I-80 between Evanston and Rock Springs, WY, and I’m certain that I could see at least 50 miles in either direction.

Dave was laboring a bit up one long grade and I thought it was the wind.  It turns out that we were just about to cross the Continental Divide at 7,000 feet.  Way to climb, Dave!

My father loved the desert and he would really have enjoyed the scenery on today’s run.  The roads are so straight, th0ugh, that I almost forgot how to turn the bike.  Just roll the throttle on, lean into the wind and put a little pressure on the bars, and settle in for an hour or two.

Muddy and Don in Rawlins, WY

I pulled into the “Best Motel” in Rawlins to find two of the bikes that had passed me earlier on already checked in.  Steve and his wife from Alberta were also there.

As usually, I found a way to chat Muddy and Don up about testing and tracking for prostate cancer.  Turns out that Don has a friend who has just been told he has terminal prostate cancer.  But, the story gets worse.

Don’s friend was scheduled for surgery but suffered a heart attack.  The medical team put the surgery on hold for a year to allow him to recuperate. During that twelve month period, the cancer metastasized to his colon and bones.

15% of cancers are aggressive and killers.  We have life insurance, car insurance, and house insurance and keep these policies up to date.  But we men are so reluctant to check our “prostate insurance policy” to make certain we are OK.

Sturgis in Two Days

I’m finishing this post at 8:30 pm and there is a steady rumble of motorcycle exhausts along the main route in town.  Sturgis is just a two day march northeast and in the last afternoon every little motel parking lot sports at least three or four bikes.  I’m sure everything will be full by the time I hit Gillette and Spearfish.

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

