15 Pounds in 15 Months. Will They Kill Me?

29000Men Comment
I just finished watching Mike Anderson’s movie, Healing Cancer, and I must say that it made a major impact on my thinking.

If you have read my short bio on the blog, you know my prostate cancer background. After my treatment, I searched for ways that I could affect the potential future recurrence of my prostate cancer. The only options I found were diet and exercise, because I wasn’t in the position to change my environment either by lowering work stress or by physically moving to a new location (I live in Manhattan Beach, CA).

I adopted a vegetarian diet and got back on my bicycle. Within 6 months I had dropped to 142 pounds, my weight at the time I graduated from college and entered the US Army. I felt great, although I looked a bit thin to most people (that’s why you see me sporting a beard – it makes my face look a bit fuller).

However, over the past year I relaxed my diet to include chicken, turkey, and an occasional fling with red meat, but also more non-vegetable carbohydrates and, of course, the cheese that I love. The result? My weight has increased to 158 pounds (my normal weight at surgery was 162 pounds – I stand 5’10“).

Yesterday, I reverted to my vegetarian regime and I’ll follow my progress on this blog. I would be very interested in hearing from other PCa survivors about their reflections on Mike Anderson’s research.

Best regards, Robert.
Test.Track.Treat.Live.™

PS: If you are a motorcyclist, check out http://www.tourdeusa.org. I’ll be riding across the US and back in 2010 to get guys thinking about prostate cancer. I would love to have company along the way.

About The Success Architect®

Founder and CEO of The Success Foundry | Best Selling Author | Speaker | Senior Fellow @ the Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School |Business Coach Founder, CEO of TSG Inc | Founder and Partner of InterSpaceLA | Thought Partner | LinkedIn Trainer and Coach | Founder of Pony Express Riders | Motorcycle Rider | Bicycle Racer | USA Cycling Coach | Retired career Army officer | Prostate Cancer Advocate | Founder and CEO of Prostate Cancer Awareness Project, Inc. | Find me at LinkedIn.com/in/robertwarrenhess.
This entry was posted in Healing Cancer, prostate cancer recurrence, Tour de USA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

